The unbelievable story of how bureaucracy changed the world

When I was younger I wanted to become an actress with all my heart. I still enjoy acting a lot, but it isn’t the career path I choose.

When I realized I was into writing and I wasn’t so bad at it, all I wanted was to write.

I still want to write, if I could live of it, that’d be amazing, but I’m sane enough to know that that is very unlikely.

I have another interest – except languages – but it seems that everything is rather pointless if I don’t leave this world – knowing I changed something.

There are massive problems all over – domestic violence, climate change, poverty, modern day slavery, endangering the environment, whaling, finning, overfishing, overproduction and so on.

I try to lead an environmentally concious life, but the things that interest me the most are domestic violence and modern day slavery. It makes me so angry that people get sold out like objects by people who apparently have no respect for human life. Little children fight wars, girls are forced into prostitution, workers produce masses for a very small loan at a high health cost.

And domestic violence, well, we all know what it is. We all know it happens all over. I used to think that if a victim went to the police, they would provide safety and start investigating the case.

But you know, what if she’s lying, an alcoholic, mental or whatever? Why didn’t she go the police the first time? Why did she wait until it happened again? There is no clear evidence, sorry.

It seems to be the law that keeps doctors and police officials from doing what they should. A doctor can tell that someone didn’t simply fall down the stairs. But may he say something? No. A sister will notice if her big sister is being abused in her marriage. Can she go the police about it? No.

I want to do something about it. I’m not sure how, but I don’t want to end up sitting behind a desk, documenting a case nobody did anything about. I’m sure, raising awareness is one thing, but it isn’t everything. I won’t change the world by holding up a poster with three words on it. What’s original about that?

I looked at studying sociology and it said I could work in HR of some company later on. Great.

I think they only tell you how you earn money if you study this or that. Never mind if it has any impact at all.

But I don’t know what to do, really. I won’t earn much as a writer and I won’t earn much trying to help people. I’ll probarbly end up broke. But it could be better than waisting my life in meaning, but earning enough to live.

Leave a Reply

