Fair well and good night

 

  • Let’s play a game.
  • Go to sleep.
  • No.
  • Why not? Why won’t you go to sleep?
  • I’m human. I have to eat and drink.
  • So? Humans have to sleep too.
  • If I go to sleep now I will have to get up again.
  • You do that every day.
  • Exactly.
  • I don’t understand. Just sleep.
  • Every night my dreams send me places that are not from this world, nor any world beyond ours. And every day I wake up to realize that these places are not real and are lost forever.
  • You’re clearly tired. Go to sleep.
  • I might never grow tired of being awake if I don’t know that there are better places than the one we live in.
  • So you never want to sleep again?
  • Yes.
  • That’s silly. You will sleep eventually.
  • I know.
  • Well then why not sleep now?
  • Before I sleep – I hope I will die.
  • What?
  • That way I never have to endure the misery of this world again. Wouldn’t that be nice?
  • You’re mad. Stop talking like that! You won’t sleep so you can bare being awake, but you will have to die to be happy anyway?
  • Exactly, my existence has no point. It’s what I’ve been trying to tell you.
  • So you’ll commit suicide?
  • I would.
  • Well, I won’t let you!
  • You already have.
  • How?
  • You drove our car into a ditch. We’re dying, dear.
  • What?
  • Now I can sleep forever. We both can. We never have to wake up again.
  • You’re talking nonsense.
  • Good night, my love.
One thought on “Fair well and good night

Leave a Reply

