Killing innocence – A song without a tune

I was looking through the endless documents on my computer and I found one titled “song”. From time to time I try to write a song, the lyrics come quite easily, but the melody is rather secondary. Now this one will never make it into a song, unless it will turn out to be a punk song where noone understands what the singer is saying anyway, so I thought I’d post it here. I wrote it a while ago and I can’t remember what caused it. I do remember I wrote it all in one go though. Anyway, I hope you like it. Let’s see it as a very strange, deformed, long poem 🙂

This is a story of a post-apocalyptic world with only 500 survivors.

They tried to stay alive with every passing day. Adjusting to the changing climate.
They were hopeless and lost in their new found world, when they met a girl.

She was naked and bare with short hair and teardrops in her eyes.

She said

I’m sorry, it’s my fault

I never meant for it all to go so wrong

and now the sun is going down

I know I have to come around

give back all that I stole

it’s the time for the truth to be told

I’m sorry, forgive me

for all that I have done.

The survivors were overwhelmed and quickly sent her away.

For she had disturbed and rearranged their new found ways.

In that very night, she returned to them, in a misty dream.

She followed them all into the night.

She said

I’m sorry, it’s my fault

I never meant for it all to go so wrong

and now the sun is going down

I know I have to come around

give back all that I stole

it’s the time for the truth to be told

I’m sorry, forgive me

for all that I have done.

It was the next day and the survivors were tired from the restless sleep last night.

They were moody and out of balance and frankly, full of fright.

The words of the girl, in the naked dress, haunted them all the time.

Now they signaled that, this had to end, but still she came again.

She said

I’m sorry, it’s my fault

I never meant for it all to go so wrong

and now the sun is going down

I know I have to come around

give back all that I stole

it’s the time for the truth to be told

I’m sorry, forgive me

for all that I have done.

The mayor lost his patience and let out a roar.

He yelled: “Don’t say you’re sorry, when you don’t know what for!”

And all the others joined him against the innocence

and they pulled together, to take her down.

Her last words were:

You’ll be sorry, it’s our fault.

I’m sure you never meant for it all to go wrong.

But you’re minds are so messed up by now

and you’re actions are too loud.

Give back all you stole

the truth it must be told.

I’m sorry and I forgive

I was like you once.

They killed her, the innocent girl.

She died the day she told the truth.

We killed her, the innocent girl.

We died the day she told the truth.

Leave a Reply

