Prêts – Allez!

2 years ago we moved from Switzerland to Germany and I stopped fencing. I had been fencing for only half a year.

I was never really good at it, but I love it anyway.

If you just look at the way they move, the swiftness on their feet, how exact they are, how precise they are with their weapon.

I love the fact that it is one of the oldest sports in Europe and that every duel is one of honour. I always imagine these scenes in my head with two men fighting to vivid violin music.

“Is that all you have, old chap?” says the arrogant one with golden hair. “Oh look at that, a wee scratch.”

The whole thing might end in chaos, jumping through windows, their hair getting messier and messier. The bearded one with the dark hair and black eyes doesn’t speak, his mind is ice cold, just as his blade.

Oh and in the end, the woman in the pretty dress wins. https://i0.wp.com/www.olympische-spiele-2012.de/wp-content/uploads/2012/08/wpid-b9bd611abf7d3dbb2426013e2a358fc9.jpeg

Makes sense, right?

In reality it’s an exhausting, sweaty 3 minutes.

So anyway I just found out that there is a fencing club near me, so I’ll go by there on thursday. But I don’t see myself as a sporty person or elegant or precise, but I’m tempted.

I’ll go and see how it is and how the people are (if they will be yelling at my mistake all the time or try to give me productive feedback).

Wish me luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

