Giving up the key

Alright so I have a story to tell you. When my boyfriend from Italy and I broke up, he gave me a key. It’s a second key to his little boat and he said it stands for the fact that I am always welcome.

My friends said I should go to Italy and steal the boat. Unfortunately I don’t know the first thing about boats, no matter how much he told me about her (the boat)

It’s a very nice gesture – according to my mother it’s very romantic. My mother feels sorry for him, by the way, and I thought she was supposed to be on my side.

But you see, now that doesn’t really matter anymore. Over the past few months everything about him was annoying and every time I thought about him my mood was lower than before and at night, if I thought of him, it wouldn’t let me go so I couldn’t sleep.

And I think it was the key, hanging in my room, reminding me of all the stories we share – none of them were welcome though. So I decided the key had to go.

I gave it to a friend of mine who’s going to go and visit my Ex (he’s there now) to give it back. I talked to my Ex and he said he doesn’t want it, so I told my friend he could through it away. I’m not sure if he’s done it yet.

But however, now the key is gone, I feel much better! I’m writing my novel again that I’d stopped for some reason, I could talk to my Ex without my stomach cramping up and me getting in someway pissed off at him and I think I’m generally happier.

I waited with this post for a few days to see if it would last for more than a moment – and it did.

Maybe I would have been okay again before giving away the key – but it really seems that: Key gone, a whole load of rubbish gone! 🙂

“You will find that it is necessary to let things go; simply for the reason that they are heavy. So let them go, let go of them. I tie no weights to my ankles.” – C. JoyBell C.

Leave a Reply

