The radio makes me sad

When I was growing up (as apparently I’m not going to grow anymore) I went through a lot of phases in music, but well, there was a lot more choice than there is now. Thank goodness there are still good and decent musicians who care about lyrics and diversity and actual instruments and meaning of a song!

This evening I was in the back of our car with parents listening to the radio. There was a choice between football news and the latest Itunes hit list.

Both made me want to repetedly bang my head against the cold car window.

Surely you’ve heard the latest collaboration between Justin Bieber and Will.I.am on the radio that unfortunately represents the music taste of the wider public. It’s about partying, of course. Popular songs these days are either about partying, getting drunk or in other ways wasted and most importantly: Sex.

There’s nothing wrong with singing about sex, it’s an essential part of our every day life and Kiss wrote a good song about it, so did George Michael, Marina and the Diamonds (but from a more critical point of view), Tom Jones, Paolo Nutini and so on. They’re the kind of songs I personally don’t resent just because they’re about sex, as there are different ways of approaching the subject.

However this post is not about sex in music, but modern music in general.

It’s boring and it makes me sad.

I used to listen to the Black Eyed Peas, so I know a little something about the evelotion of their music.

So here’s the backwards-evolutuion of the Black Eyed Peas:

2003 they brought out a meaningful song called “Where is the love?”
It critisizes the way the world hates, fighting wars everywhere, leaving everyone crying and lonely.

But if you only have love for your own race
Then you only leave space to discriminate
And to discriminate only generates hate
And when you hate then you’re bound to get irate
Madness is what you demonstrate

2005 they released their next album with a song featuring Jack Johnson called “Gone going”, in which it’s about a musicians who loses his soul in the music business because he didn’t stay true to himself and his root.

Who he is, the person that’s deep within
Cause you are content with just being the name-brand man
And you fail to see that its trivial
Insignificant, you addicted to material
I’ve seen your kind before
You’re the type that thinks souls is sold in a store

2009 they decided to go all futuristic and brought songs like “Boom Boom Pow”, which, as you can tell, is far less philosophical than the last two songs.

So most of the song goes like this:

Boom boom boom, gotta get-get
Boom boom boom, gotta get-get
Boom boom boom, gotta get-get
Boom boom boom, gotta get-get

And the rest of the song is basically about the fact that they’re moving towards the future and leaving everyone else behind (funny how that’s what “gone going” is about).

Y’all stuck on Super 8 shit
That low-fi stupid 8 bit
I’m on that HD flat
This beat go boom boom bap

2010 they released “The Time (Dirty Bit)” where they ruined Dirty Dancing’s soundtrack with house music. It starts out with the beginning of “The time of my life” and falls into some kind of epileptic seizure, then goes over to something like this:
I came up in here rock, light a fire,make it hot I don’t wanna take no pictures,
I just want to take some shots
So come on, let’s go, let’s lose control
Let’s do it all night ’til we can’t do it no more
And that  is what people listen to these days. That’s what’s on the charts. It’s either me with a bad taste in music or everyone else. I say it’s everyone else.
I recently found this video (vlog) about the same subject and we tend to agree:
Where’s the soul? Where’s the structure? Is this the end of meaningful music, the end of people taking guitar lessons because you can do everyone on your computer? One girl said that Elvis Presley was boring. I wanted to hit her. It’s so sad, it really is. Thank goodness for decent musicians! Please don’t ever stop doing what you do!

Nowadays music is all about fee
The soul is caged no bits now free

– The Black Eyed Peas, “They don’t want music”, from their album “Monkey Business” 2005.

3 thoughts on “The radio makes me sad

  1. Great post! The evolution of music is really interesting… and I totally see where you’re talking about music going. I liked and could relate to your example of the Black Eyed Peas, as I listen to their music, but much prefer songs like Where is the Love, or Gone Going… Union also isn’t bad. But there’s other songs that are just… not my thing at all. Lately I’m into this indie band, Fermented Oranges, most of the songs they have online are from their first album which didn’t have all real instruments, but their live performances are really great to hear… their song complain is their newest I think that’s online so far but a new album has just been recorded.. you can check them out here if you like… http://www.soundcloud.com/fermented-oranges

    1. Thank you 🙂 Fermented Oranges^^ they certainly keep coming up with creative names. They’re quite good I have to say, but not entirely my cup of tea.
      I liked the whole album “Monkey Business”, except for “My hump”, because it’s only about..her hump xD

      1. Haha, I’m not fond of My Humps either… I like Monkey Business but tend to skip that song often.. 🙂
        And yeah, they have creative names for sure! Different type of music than Black Eyed Peas definitely too.

Leave a Reply

