Things that don’t work

Here are two things that some how don’t make sense. For one, I just had a nap. That makes complete sense, because the only time I’m ever really awake is at night – which is a bit too late, considering the fact I have to leave for school in the morning (that’s another thing that doesn’t seem right, but that’s not what I wanted to talk about). So I had a nap and I feel a little more awake. Thing is, I know I won’t be able to get to sleep on time tonight. They tell you to “power-nap”, so sleep for 20 minutes and get up again.

How does that even work?

Firstly, I don’t know when exactly I’m going to fall asleep, so I can’t set my alarm clock for 20 minutes after falling asleep. Also, when I’m in bed, I stay in bed. It’s so warm and cozy and 20 minutes is not an appropriate amount of time to share with my beloved bed! I need at least half an hour to get out of it in the morning, so how I am supposed to just sleep for 20 minutes and then get up again? The concept of power-napping is simply completely lost on me.

The second thing that doesn’t make sense is the way we see ourselves. Now, there are a lot of aspects that are not right about that aspect, but more specifically I mean a woman’s curves.

https://i1.wp.com/autoimg.static-fra.de/autoimg/308446/300x600/Dicke-Frauen-nehmen-sich-selbst-als-dnn-wahr.jpg You know that ring of fat everyone has just above your hips? As implied in that sentence just now: Everyone has it! It may be bigger or smaller, but every woman  has it from a certain age and if she doesn’t then she’s a supermodel or really thin.

So, it’s not an uncommon thing to have and yet it’s seen as unsexy, as something you need to hide or get rid off (which is almost impossible). Why? Why can’t we just accept that we all have a bit of a pump around the hips and there’s really not much we can do about it. I came across this frustration of mine when I’d decided to go swimming last friday and I tried on my swimsuit for the first time after summer-swimming season finished. There’s nothing wrong with my figure, but no matter what I did, I couldn’t hide that ring of fat below my waist. At one point the thought even crossed my mind that maybe I shouldn’t go swimming after all just because I didn’t like what I saw. But it seems that like hair or like fingers, it’s just part of the female body. And I make that assumption because I don’t really have a butt, nor do I really have boobs (when you look closely you can make out what they’re supposed to be, but I could just as well go through as a guy sometimes), but I have that ring. And it’s not very flattering, but it’s natural. So I think it shouldn’t be seen as something not flattering, because that’s just making us feel bad about our bodies when it’s not any different from anybody else’s body.

So, there it is, power-napping and spare tyres. That’s what was on my mind today.

 

One thought on “Things that don’t work

Leave a Reply

