Age with dignity, not with chemistry

Alright, hands up to those who remember the film “In Time”.

Whoever saw it knows that the people in this time-trading world only age until they are 25 years old. There is this scene where a man presents his daughter, his wife and his mother. They all look the same age – very strange.

https://i2.wp.com/www.thefilmpilgrim.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/in-time-film-review.jpg
These are the parents – so they’re about 50 or so.

This is a film and it’s not real, I know. But I can’t help thinking that that’s the way we’re headed.

Every time I turn on my television I see an advert for this anti-aging creme and each and every one of them promises to offer the best remedy for our wrinkles.

When did old become out?

Not only are there all sorts of cremes to buy in a drug store, but also operations and procedures. There is a new operation where a doctor pours liquid nitrogen into a woman’s ear (I think it was her ear) which then freezes the nerves and muscles in her forehead. She can’t move her entire forehead or her eyebrows, but at least she’s wrinkle free. And then of course there’s Botox or a face-lift.

These procedures used to be for the rich and famous, now they’ve become accessable for almost everyone.

But isn’t aging one of the most natural things? Does it remind us too much of death when we see that our skin is getting tired and creased, that our hairline is receding and turning grey, that our eyes are used and our feet are heavy? The average age we reach is about 70 years old.

70 years are a long time! Of course, if I’ve lived my life to the fullest, enjoyed rain and sunshine and walked on this earth for so long, not yet having found a way to defy gravity, then obviously, eventually my skin will hang from my body and my butt and my boobs, my feet will have been carrying all this weight around for so long, of course they’ll ache and swell up. And eventually I will die.

Right now, I’m young and I have not yet reached a point where I have to worry about staying young. I enjoy the fact that I don’t necessarily need a bra (I wear one anyway) and that I don’t need to conceal any major wrinkles yet. I hope, that when I start showing signs of an aging body, I will welcome them.

Of course it helps to keep fit so you’re healthier when you’re older, but I have to say it seems illogical to fight something so natural. We’re born, we live, we die.

I mentioned this strange habit of declaring something to be ugly which is completely natural in another post https://pinappleflavouredpeople.wordpress.com/2013/05/08/things-that-dont-work/

There are many things we tell ourselves are undesirable, but honestly the most undesirable thing about you is the fact you think you’re not desirable.

I’ll admit I’m not ravishing beauty myself and I don’t feel like it. But I feel good about myself, even if I’ve barely got any feminine features to show, even if my ears and nose are unproportional to my eyes, even if I’m pale as snow. I’ve accepted that these are all features that define my individuality and I’ll accept them as they change with age.

https://i0.wp.com/chexydecimal.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/05/audreyhepburn6.jpg

Naturally I hope to age with dignity and elegance, a bit like one of my idols Audrey Hepburn who stayed beautiful even with her grey hair and her wrinkles. Her face told a life’s story, of someone who grew up during the war, someone who was left by her father, someone who dealt with fame and publicity, several heartbreaks and challenges of motherhood. In her final years she even dedicated herself to UNICEF and I think those are all things that made her beautiful.

I never thought I’d land in pictures with a face like mine – Audrey Hepburn

So let’s not waste our time standing in front of the mirror, examining the signs of an aging face. Why not live life to the fullest, see that life is anything but superficial. A day feeling sorry for my wrinkled skin is a day I did not get out there and live.

Age is an issue of mind over matter. If you don’t mind, it doesn’t matter. – Mark Twain

Leave a Reply

