A collection of my favourite movie soundtracks

Surely you have mastered the art of deduction just as well as Sherlock Holmes has, so you know by reading the title what this post will be about.

Without further ado and probably in no specific order because I can’t decide – my top…umm…we’ll see how many I can come up with…movie soundtracks!

By the way; I advise you to turn up your volume or put on headphones – yes, actually, put on your good headphones and turn it up – to get the best experience.

The Chronicles of Narnia

If I told you I loved the soundtrack of Narnia that would be a horrifying understatement. When I hear this music, it tingles in my body, I feel like I want to go somewhere far away and my god – I want to enter Narnia. Why can’t I go to Narnia? Seriously. I.want.to.go.to.Narnia.!

Anyway, the soundtrack was composed – beautifully composed by Harry Gregson-Williams, a British composer responsible also for soundtracks like that of Armageddon, Prince of Persia or Shrek.

The example here is my personal favourite called “Only the beginning of an adventure” (Take me with you!)

Tron Legacy

Personally I’m not into techo-electro-stuff and I’ve never been too wild about Daft Punk’s creations, yet I thought they did a rather good job for the revived version of Tron Legacy of 2010. The film itself was very impressive too, yet I’ve only ever seen it once. I’m afraid that it won’t have same effect on me if I don’t watch it on a big cinema screen.

Sherlock Holmes

I’m talking about the one with Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law with the running gag with their dog Gladstone constantly dying due to some experiment. I love the soundtrack by Hans Zimmer, fist of all because it fits extremely well to the feel of the film, but also because it’s exciting all by itself. I’m generally a fan of the sound of the violin and (I hope it’s a violin :S This is the reason I dropped music in school and changed to drama, because my music teacher had expected me to identify instruments by their sound) Hans Zimmer has put it to excellent use.

Again, this is my personal favourite called “I never woke up in handcuffs before” (though it would make more sense to call it: I’ve never woken up in handcuffs before, but it’s about the music, not the grammar) and it’s probably the most jittery song of them all.

The pirates of the Caribbean

The first film is the best – I have to watch it again some time. I couldn’t decide on a song, so here’s the main theme first, then just the whole soundtrack for “The curse of the Black Pearl”. I can’t say if it is better than the soundtracks of the other films, but for me it’s a classic. Also, it was my ringtone at one point – so that says it all. It was composed by Klaus Badelt and produced by Hans Zimmer. And guess where Klaus Badelt was born: Frankfurt am Main! (That’s near me!) He’s quite good-looking for his age too.

Frozen

As this is my current favourite animation film (Yes, D., I know, I know), I have to include the soundtrack in my list. In my humble opinion every song and the actual film soundtrack by Christophe Beck is very, very well done. And yes, the singing is endless, but as the songs are so much fun to listen to, why not?

As the most popular one you’ll have heard by now is either “Let it go”, sung by Idina Menzel or Demi Lovato (prefer Idina’s version, sorry) or “For the first time in forever” by Kristen Bell, here’s the intro song called “Frozen Heart” and then also a very cute song about reindeer(s).

Lemony Snicket’s A series of unfortunate events

I saw it as a child and it has a lot of comedic aspects in it – the biggest one being Jim Carey as Count Olaf, obviously (especially that scene where he plays a baby dinosaur – priceless), but I’m not sure who this film is aimed at (and no I did not read the books). It’s wonderful, hilarious and heartbreaking at the same time and well – the soundtrack was beautifully composed by Thomas Newman who has done too many great soundtracks to mention them all.

How to train your dragon

It would not have occurred to me if I hadn’t had a small – difference of opinion – with a fellow animation-films-lover, but the soundtrack is actually rather good, composed by John Powell. I suppose the film has a nice message: Dragon’s are awesome and if they were real, I would certainly try to befriend one – even if it was the last thing I did. But since dragons – or the particular dragon in the film – is more like a cat and I have two cats, I don’t think I’d have any trouble at all.

Le fabuleux destin d’Amélie Poulain

Or simply “Amélie” or “The fabulous destiny of Amélie Poulain” – I have never seen it. I am ashamed. I will, I promise. But for now, I don’t need to have seen the film to love the soundtrack of it.

The entire soundtrack is great, composed by Yann Tiersen, but I’ve picked the probably most famous song: “Comptine d’un autre été”.

Obviously there are many, many more wonderful soundtracks, such as that as that of “Untouchable” (french: Les Intouchables) or “The Lord of the Rings”, but this is already probably the longest time you’ve taken to read a blog post of mine. Thank you if you managed to stay until the end.

And finally, NOT a soundtrack, but a clever remix from the Lord of the Rings. I think maybe Orlando Bloom should consider a career as a rapper.

But please, do.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

