I’m an optimist on stand-by – a faceless poem

Written two hours into the month of november.

Happy November
We are strangers
once again
I am the chaser
You are the stranger
I know too well

A hunter with bad eyesight
and such bad memory
remembering every detail
and you’re a string in the air
I can’t catch

Though you’re such a catchy Indie song
only play for me once a year
until the hype dies down
once again
I’m thinking I should leave
but I’m an optimist on stand-by
I’m a scientist with really bad research skills
You only tell me when, never where
until it’s yesterday

And once again
I hear myself agree
to be the luckless chaser
and my moments of calm
when I’ve had one too many
set-backs
I disagree, strongly
Not strong enough

One thought on “I’m an optimist on stand-by – a faceless poem

Leave a Reply

