Fuck the planet

We young people tend to have crazy ideas. We want to change the world with little things, big things – no matter. The old people call it idealism. A disease that reaches its peek at the age of twenty-five and then increasingly your body ought to be fully cleansed from the anomaly by the end of thirty.

Me, I am twenty. I am currently in the midst of this disease. I’ve been experiencing the symptoms of vegetarianism and buying clothes consciously, from a fair-trade shop or second-hand. In fact the symptoms have increased now that I have decided to go without eating eggs for a while.

It’s awful I know.

They tell me one day I will wake up and find that it is perfectly healthy to eat animals, support slavery, consume without giving it a second thought where my products came from.

I will become like my dad and won’t give a shit about caged chickens.

Why am I being so sarcastic? Well, my dear father – knowing that I am not eating eggs at the moment – served me a buckwheat rissole. I should’ve thought about it sooner, should not have trusted him to tell me. Of course there was not only egg in it, but barn eggs. The fact that he kept buying barn eggs was the whole reason that I went egg-free in the first place, when, after further research, there is seldom an egg farm that does not kill it’s baby boy chicks.

It is challenging to try to be a so-called “conscious consumer” if you were not raised in a hippy world. My mother tries to buy organic, but my dad does most of the shopping.

So I go out and buy the organic milk – and eggs I buy none at all.

But everyday I am immoral, basically. I eat dairy products, most milk cows don’t survive their first five years of life. Each time I see a cow on a farm I check out their udder to see if it swollen or  normally sized. I need to know if it is also true for Switzerland – it partially is, unfortunately.

Every time I use my computer I am exploiting someone or probably supporting the damaging of the environment because of the way they got the materials to make the computer I am writing this blog post with. I was happy to read that Acer is relatively high on the “ethical consumer” scale, but nonetheless. And even so, this is me using unnecessary electricity, probably received from a nuclear plant, which left a contaminated mess when they harvested the uranium (or equivalent) – not to mention the nuclear waste they have buried in the ground until they can think of a better idea.

Every time I shower, I waste water. Some of my products were tested on animals – not most, but not all my cosmetics are vegan.

Every time I open a packet of something, I produce waste. Waste I always throw away appropriately, but I am just adding to the problem aren’t I?

Every time I use google – or anything like that because they save all my data on massive, hungry servers.

I can’t buy anything from Nestlé, because they are simply shitty, including the privatization of water in developing countries. Or other companies who do animal testing or whose suppliers use slavery, child workers or anything like that.

When you think about it – it is fucking depressing.

Every day we live and breathe on this earth, we are fucking arseholes.

As a child, most things I owned were made in China. I did not know what that meant at the time.

I was a child, but now I know and everyone who is older than I knows this too. We know what all of this means.

So why aren’t we doing anything about it?

Leave a Reply

